Yu Bao Xuan — a taste of hometown

For all the foreign students, it is such a pleasure to find an authentic restaurant of hometown dishes. Therefore, I would like to introduce a nice Chinese restaurant in London today.

Name of this restaurant is Imperial Treasure Chinese Cuisine and it also has a Chinese version which is Yu Bao Xuan (御宝轩). Translation of this name is clear and direct. First character ‘Yu’ means objects which can only be used by members of Chinese royal family. Second charscter ‘Bao’ means precious and high-class materials. Third character ‘Xuan’ is a specific name of elegant ancient Chinese building. Chinese restaurants in foreign countries always try to create sense of familiarity and belonging and Yu Bao Xuan is a very good name.

We have ordered main courses and my favorite dish was definitely the Beijing Roast Duck. Back in China, I spent most of my leisure time in Beijing and among all the local dishes, and Beijing Roast Duck occupied the first position in my heart. I have tried several times in different Chinese restaurants since I came to London. However, none of them has the familiar taste. So I was really surprised and even touched when I tasted this dish in Yu Bao Xuan. The appearance and taste are as same as that in China. Moreover, it also includes the performance that the cooker cuts the duck into slices in front of you.

I really recommend Chinese friends to there to recall feelings of hometown as well as foreign friends to have a taste of native Beijing Roast Duck.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started