Hot pot — a heart warming Chinese dish

Hot pot is not only a dish, but also a representation of reunion and occupies an essential position on Chinese dinning table. People with different tastes of food are all welcomed to enjoy this delicious dish and felt the warmth of hot pot with their tongues and hearts.

Three days ago, we finished the last lesson of this course. After a long day of taking class from 10am to 4pm, I and my friends all felt tired and wished to have a relaxing dinner as well as celebrate the ending of this course. Hotpot was the first choice that came up in our minds. We went to a Chinese restaurant which was close to our classroom and was recommended by many of my friends and the name was Shu Jie.

Hotpot is a traditional Chinese dish and has different forms in different districts of China. Pot is divided into several parts and each part has different soup base. After the soup is boiled, we can put meat, vegetable or other materials into the pot and wait until food is well done. I am not a person who loves taking adventure, so I usually choose traditional set such as beef, mutton and sea food.

Hotpot is really popular and welcomed in China and I think there has two main reasons. First is the feeling of reunion. A group of friends or family members sit around one hot pot and chatting and feeling the temperature of hot air of hot pot can create a sense of cozy and relax. Therefore, hot pot is a popular choice for Chinese to celebrate a festival. At the New Year’s Eve of this year, I and my friends also chose to cook hotpot at home. And this leads to another reason of the popularity of hotpot that it is easy to cook. When we want to cook by ourselves and don’t want to take too much time, hot pot is a great choice.

I guess when I come back to China, the first thing on the to do list will be having a hot pot with my family ♥

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started