Patisserie Valerie — a rescue action of memories

At the end of January, an article about Patisserie Valerie was widely spread on WeChat and suddenly many of my friends who have studied in London were talking about it. Patisserie Valerie is a famous British dessert shop and was opened in 1926. Now it has over 200 branches in UK. However, due to this article, Patisserie Valerie decided to close 71 branches over one night and was on the verge of bankruptcy. Reason behind this situation is finance deficit which is caused by false financial report.

On social media, such as Moments of WeChat, my friends who have studies in London all posted their stories about Patisserie Valerie. Some always buy a piece of cake on the way going home from classes. Some have ordered their birthday cakes here. For students who are still studying in London, they all come to buy a cake and post the picture online to show their support.

Before this event, I have never heard of this cake shop. But the story of a shop with one hundred year history faces shut down is so sad and I also go to buy a cake with my friend. I chose raspberry tart and my friend chose a lemon dessert. To be honest, I’m not a fan of the taste of cake. But through buying a cake, I feel like participating in protecting sweet and warm memories of many people. No matter local family or foreign students, they have emotional connection with this shop and this is so touchable.

At the end of this story, an investment company calls Causeway Capital decide to invest PV on 15th February and save this shop from bankruptcy. Happy ending is always the best.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started